There are two types of settings that can be changed on Windows shared Printers: 1) Printer preferences and 2)Device settings or configuration
The device settings or configuration settings apply to all users that use the printer and are only configurable in the printer object on the print server. You can change the printer's "Configuration" or "Device Settings" on the print server by selecting the printer, right-click and select "Properties", and then click on the "Configuration" or "Device Settings" tab. Any settings set in these dialog will are applied to end users. End users will not be able to change these settings on the local printer connection.
Printer preferences are editable by end users and are stored in the users profile. You can configure the settings that the printer will have when the printer is first installed on an end users computer. You can change the printer's "Printing Defaults" on the printer by selecting the printer on the print server, right-click and select "Properties", and then click on the Advanced tab, and then click the "Printing defaults..." button. Any settings set in this dialog will be applied when a user installs a printer. Users will be able to change the settings on their printers after the printer is installed by selecting the printer, right-click and select "Properties", and then click on the "General" tab, and then click the "Printing prefernces..." button. Note: If you right click on a Windows shared printer connection on your local computer and you are logged into the domain as an Administrator the properties of the printer are shown as if you were on the print server.
Your browser is not supported.
This website will not run properly on this browser. To use the site, update to one of these modern browsers: