General

Use the Tools > Settings > General page to change the following options:

TCP/IP & Windows Shared printer settings:

  • Sync Delete:
    When deleting printers in the Administrator, delete the printer from end user computers
  • Sync Deployment:
    When removing a printers deploymnet association, also remove the printer from end user computers.

TCP/IP Printer Settings:

  • Sync General / Port:
    When changing settings in a printer’s general or port tab, sync the changes on end user computers
  • Sync Driver:
    When updating drivers in the Administrator, update the printer driver on end user computers at next log in or when the user clicks refresh on the system tray icon.

Windows Shared Printers Settings

There are two types of Windows Shared Printers that can be installed on Windows operating systems, user and global.

User printers
User printers are an entry in the user's profile to create a connection to a Windows shared printer and are stored in the user’s profile. Any user with user rights or greater can install a per-user printer because it is only created in the user’s profile.

Global printers
Per-workstation printers are an instruction to the operating system, to create the specified printer as a Per-User Printer in every profile that is loaded (every user that logs into the computer). The instruction is stored in the computer's registry, and requires administrator rights to add or remove. Printer Installer Client runs as a system account and therefore has rights to add and remove the instruction, regardless of what rights the end user has on the local computer.

 

  • Create/Delete Global Printers (per-workstation)
    Use this option to have per-workstation Windows Shared Printers installed when end user's self-install printers, or when deploying Windows Shared Printers.

Problem this option solves: 
Printer Installer enables end users to install and remove per-workstation printers so that the printer is added or removed for all users using the workstation. Without Printer Installer end users only install per-user printers that are installed only for the current user. Subsequent users that login will not see printers that were previously installed by other users. This can be a painful problem if users do not always use the same computer because each time the user logs into a new computer they have to install all the printers. By enabling this option the printer is installed as a per-workstation printer and will be available to all users that subsequently login. If a user deletes the printer it will be removed from the computer so that users logging in later will not see the printer as an installed printer.

  • Create / Delete User Printers (per-user Printers)
    Use this option to have "User Windows Shared Printers" installed when end user's self-install printers, or when deploying Windows Shared Printers.

  • Disable printers from being included in roaming profiles
    Enabling this option disables Windows Shared Printers from being included in roaming profiles.

Problem this option solves:

When roaming profiles are enabled, Windows shared printer connections are included in the end user's profile. If the end user installs printer A, while on computer A, printer A will remain in the user's profile even when the end user logs onto computer B in a different location. This can get pretty messy as the user goes from place to place installing printers, and all of the installed printers remain in the end user’s profile. If the user is in location A, why do they need printers from location B? In some situations it makes more sense to use the above "Create/Delete Per-Workstation Printers" option in combination with this option to enable end users to install per-workstation printers, that do not roam with the user, and are installed to the local computer. That way when the next user logs in the printers are already installed and ready to use.

Operating Systems Supported

In the "Operating Systems Supported" section you can choose the operating systems that you want to support. If an operating system is disabled it will not be listed in the driver repository table column titles or as an available operating system in the printer’s "Driver/Profile" tab.

Cache

Specify a computer with the Printer Installer Client installed to be the cache manager.   See Managing Caching for more information.